Technology for Novel Fish Feeds

Are you ready for an update on the theoretical and practical aspects of fish feed manufacturing process? Then the Technology for novel fish feeds course might be something for you. In this course you will take advantage of the wide knowledge basis gathered in the ARRAINA consortium, and using SPAROS pilot-scale feed technology platform.

Organised by Wageningen Academy
Date Mon 26 October 2015 until Thu 29 October 2015
Venue Olhão, Algarve, Portugal

The course will comprise:

  • Theoretical modules on fish nutritional requirements, formulation and feed processing steps  (size-reduction and mixing, extrusion, pelleting, microencapsulation, vacuum coating, drying and storage), alternative fish feed formulations, novel feed ingredients and global challenges for a sustainable supply, functional aquafeeds, interaction of ingredients and processing conditions on the nutritional utilization and physical quality of feeds, new tools for assessing nutritional condition in fish.
  • A practical component with hands-on exercises on feed formulation, extrusion (twin-screw extruder), microencapsulation (spray-drying) and vacuum coating of fat and heat-labile additives. All equipment’s are available at SPAROS pilot-plant.

Target audience

The course is aimed at (young) professionals from the industry and research institutions (e.g., PhD students) across the enlarged European Union and the candidate countries.


After the course the participants have acquired an in-depth perception on the state-of-the art and future challenges in formulation and production of novel, sustainable and cost-effective fish feeds, with a focus on the interaction of current formulation trends (plant-rich, alternative feedstuffs, functional additives) and some feed processing constraints.

Programme & Content


Lecturers Institute
Aires Oliva Teles Univ. Porto, PT
Sachi Kaushik INRA, FR
Tiago Aires Sorgal, PT
Alain Brisset CLEXTRAL, FR
Dejan Miladinovic NMBU, NO
Industry Representative BIOMAR, DK
Industry Representative FEFAC
Luis Conceição SPAROS, PT
Wilson Pinto SPAROS, PT
Tomé Silva SPAROS, PT
Jorge Dias SPAROS, PT
Nadège Richard CCMAR, PT